Lancing Rovers - Champions of the Cricketer Trophy 2019

Superlatives cannot do justice to what occurred on Sunday 4 August 2019 at Gerrards Cross Cricket Club.

The Lancing Rovers won the Cricketer Trophy by 197 runs courtesy of an utterly unfathomable 309 by Ryan Maskell as well as a faultless 110 by Matt Clarke!

Breaking all sorts of records in the process, the pair put on 404 for the second wicket partnership and we finished our 50 overs on a colossal 470!

In reply, the Old Monmothians had to come out guns blazing (and, in fairness, gave it a good go) however they were all out for 273.

En route to the final against the Old Monmothians, the Rovers also beat Old Westminster in the 1st round, Old Monktonians in the quarter-final and the Old Hamptonians in the semi-final.

Furthermore, Lancing Rovers' triumph was given a special mention during the Ashes Test Match on 5 August - listen to the recording here

The Trophy win caps another absolutely outstanding season for the Rovers and will (fingers crossed) result in us being re-admitted to the Cricketer Cup next year. The Cricketer Cup is a knock-out competition for clubs drawn from former pupils of leading cricket schools. 

The following 14 OL players took part in the Cricketer Trophy 2019:

  1. AJ Wood
  2. Ryan Maskell
  3. Matt Clarke
  4. Steven Crosby
  5. Tom Nightingale
  6. George Holman
  7. Nick Ballamy
  8. Hector Loughton
  9. James Allen
  10. Henry Gane
  11. Matt Lee
  12. Oliver John
  13. Robin Frean
  14. Brandon Hanley

Up the Rovers!

George Holman (Gibbs' 2005-2010), Club Captain

The College would like to add its own congratulations to all the OLs involved. It is an incredible achievement and we hope to be able to celebrate the Rovers' success with the team as soon as possible.